Browse Category

Thriller

Ransom

By Lois Duncan

The lives of 5 captives grasp within the stability whereas their households assemble the ransom.

Two brothers, their relatives frantic to discover their sons. A loner whose uncle doesn’t even be aware of he’s lacking. a military brat whose relations is simply not capable of elevate sufficient cash. And a cheerleader who can’t expect her stepdad, yet is aware her father will come via.

Show description

Keep Reading

The Spoilers / Juggernaut

By Desmond Bagley

Double motion thrillers via the vintage event author set within the heart East and Africa.

THE SPOILERS

When movie rich person Robert Hellier loses his daughter to heroin, he announces conflict at the drug pedlars, the faceless overlords whose greed provides the realm with its lethal pleasures. London drug expert Nicholas Warren is termed upon to organise an day trip to the center East to trace down and smash them - yet with 100 million cash' worthy of heroin at stake, Warren is familiar with he'll need to use tools as lethal as his prey…

JUGGERNAUT

It was once no traditional juggernaut. Longer than a soccer pitch, weighing 550 plenty, and relocating at simply 5 miles consistent with hour, its task - and that of troubleshooter Neil Mannix - is to maneuver an immense transformer throughout an oil-rich African country. but if Nyala erupts in civil battle, Mannix's juggernaut is on the centre of the clash - a objective of ambush and probability, with out method to run and nowhere to hide…

Includes a distinct bonus - the home of the Lions, a narrative written completely for Desmond Bagley's Christmas apartment visitors within the 1960s.

Show description

Keep Reading

Operation Caribe (Pirate Hunters)

By Mack Maloney

Modern Pirates of the Caribbean

Terror stalks the Bahamas. anyone is killing prosperous seagoing travelers, leaving no clues to the identification of the marauders and no hint in their sufferers' our bodies. The Bahamian police are baffled, and while a Coast defend boat is found on a reef, its officials murdered, tourism gurus discover they want open air aid, or this crime wave will smash the islands' greatest company.

workforce Whiskey, U.S. soldiers-turned-pirate-hunters, have tangled with Somali pirates, retrieved hundreds of thousands of bucks of stolen shipment and thwarted different high-seas piracy. They run to flooring a gang of ruthless Caribbean pirates, yet prior to they could tie up the free ends, they've got unfinished company to settle with Asia's pirate kingpin. after they go back, they face a possibility extra lethal than any piracy, a plot that'll blow the Caribbean sky excessive, except the pirate hunters can do what even the U.S. army can't . . .

Show description

Keep Reading

Heaven's Fall (Heaven's Shadow)

By David S. Goyer, Michael Cassutt

Mankind’s first touch with extraterrestrial existence resulted in an immense revelation. Their final could lead them to extinction.

Twenty years have handed because the mysterious Near-Earth item nicknamed Keanu seemed within the evening sky and transported people from everywhere Earth into its inside. There they found that Keanu used to be a long-range spaceship—and they weren't on my own. They joined forces with the extraterrestrial beings known as the Architects, who had come from galaxy to hunt assist in struggling with the vicious Reivers. they usually defeated them.

Or so that they thought.

For whilst Keanu reestablished touch with Earth, they realized that the Reivers have taken over the planet, putting lots of the inhabitants lower than their dominion. yet mankind’s final wish could but be hidden contained in the NEO. And if the boys and girls nonetheless in Keanu can't locate it, humanity might be accomplished. And the galaxy could be subsequent.

Show description

Keep Reading

Nine Days

By Fred Hiatt

A fast paced modern mystery within the vein of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz set opposed to the bustling backdrop of Hong Kong, Vietnam, and the border of China. This heart-pounding experience happens as youth, an American teenage boy and his buddy, a chinese language lady from his Washington, DC-area highschool, needs to locate her father who has been kidnapped—and they simply have 9 days. even supposing the characters within the novel are fictionalized, they're in keeping with a true chinese language family members who have been a part of the chinese language Democracy circulate and encouraged this story.

"Few mysteries mix cultural variety, politics and actual threat with a lighthearted friendship. This enticing combine could have nice appeal."—Kirkus Reviews

"A attractive mystery grounded in real-world problems."—Publishers Weekly

"A rollicking and fast paced younger grownup experience novel."—South China Morning Post

"Hiatt...offers middle-school-aged readers an beautiful mixture of motion and friendship, with classes approximately international occasions and human rights woven throughout."—Washington put up ebook World

“A compelling, teen-centric political mystery . . . encouraged via real events.”—BooklistOnline.com

A NCSS/CBC awesome kid's exchange booklet within the box of Social Studies

From the Hardcover edition.

Show description

Keep Reading

The Resurrection Maker

#1 overseas BESTSELLER.

New from Glenn Cooper, an writer of over six million copies comes the main arguable novel ever written in regards to the holy grail. A middle pounding event that would hold you at the fringe of your seat!

Arthur Malory, a probably usual Englishman, has a burning curiosity within the Grail, a fondness inherited from his father. Thrust right into a life-or-death quest to discover the dear artifact, he'll notice not just his personal striking background however the energy that the Grail possesses, an influence that informs the resurrection of Christ and explosively merges religious and clinical suggestion.

in regards to the writer: Glenn Cooper has a history in archaeology from Harvard and practiced drugs as an infectious ailments professional. He was once the CEO of a biotechnology corporation for nearly two decades, has written various screenplays and has produced 3 autonomous function movies. His novels have bought over six million copies in thirty-one languages. He lives in Gilford, New Hampshire.

compliment:

"A interesting and impressive booklet, during which Cooper reinvents the parable of the Holy Grail. Combining religion, technological know-how and a great set of chills." Alessandro Mezzena Lona, Il Piccolo "Glenn Cooper proves once more to have overwhelmed Dan Brown within the box of esoteric thrillers." Luca Crovi, Il Giornale “As Cooper builds the layers of intrigue it turns into transparent that he's no traditional mystery author, yet person who asks monstrous questions.” Sunday Telegraph (UK)

Show description

Keep Reading

Trial by Fire (Scott Dixon, Book 3)

By Harold Coyle

13 military officials, bored stiff with many years of corruption and bungling below the ruling innovative get together, have decapitated the Mexican executive with one well-placed presidential airplane crash. The Council of 13, as they name themselves, quickly and particularly brutally set approximately carving the rot from the Mexican political and governmental constitution. The negative and the center classification love the hot cleanliness; the druglords and the paid-for police hate it. the USA, stuck once more with out precious intelligence, fails to appreciate the character of the revolution and falls sufferer to manipulation through the druglords, who create chaos with terrorist acts at the border. the single American who turns out to have the faintest proposal of what's occurring is television reporter Jan Fields, whose luck has positioned her in Mexico urban on the time of the coup. As Fields's stories air, her lover, Lt. Col. Scott Dixon, heads together with his troops for southern Texas, unhappily conscious that he's approximately to participate in a struggle which can carry simply soreness and embarrassment to his kingdom. between his troops is Lt. Nancy Kozak, the Army's first lady strive against officer, who's approximately to determine what males have lengthy recognized: warfare is intensely complicated and carefully fascinating

Show description

Keep Reading

Vertical Burn

By Earl Emerson

Earl Emerson is the poet laureate of guys and girls who make their dwelling the place the warmth is, bringing to lifestyles the phobia of a burning development and the moments of solitude, solace, and camaraderie that occur in among. Now, Emerson has written a enthralling novel of suspense a couple of guy who is going right into a fireplace as a hero and a chum, and springs out as an outcast–and a target.

VERTICAL BURN

Twenty-eight paces. John Finney counted his steps as he fought his approach for aid from inside of a Seattle warehouse burning on Leary approach. And while he reached his rescuers, he advised them the place his associate lay waiting–twenty-eight paces away. yet they didn’t succeed in Finney’s accomplice till the construction had cooled.

Now, six months after that tragic day, not anyone recalls Finney giving the instructions that pinpointed his partner’s place. nobody can take note whatever approximately Finney other than that he left his good friend to die. For Finney, the son of a hearth leader, wasting his attractiveness and the belief of his fellow firefighters is a sour blow. yet Finney doesn’t think the fireplace was once an coincidence. And he doesn’t think the crusade opposed to him is one either.

Trying to reconstruct the occasions at Leary method, Finney uncovers suspicious activities by way of males on the scene. With just one individual on his side–a woman firefighter who's herself an outcast within the department–Finney starts to piece jointly an staggering conspiracy that might flip neighbors into suspects, solid males into conspirators, and each guy contained in the division right into a most likely lethal enemy. And the main terrible hearth is but to burn.

From the terrifying darkness of a smoke-engulfed room to the politics that performs out in the back of closed doorways, Earl Emerson captures with ardour and pathos the existence and occasions of the boys and girls devoted to the carrier. In Vertical Burn he fuses his feeling for real-life heroes with a white-hot story of suspense and betrayal– the type of betrayal that burns our bodies, burns a urban, and burns a soul endlessly.

Show description

Keep Reading

Deliverance (Modern Library 100 Best Novels)

By James Dickey

The surroundings is the Georgia wasteland, the place the states such a lot distant white-water river awaits. In the thundering froth of that river, in its echoing stone canyons, 4 males on a canoe journey find a freedom and pleasure past examine. after which, in a second of horror, the journey turns right into a fight for survival as one guy turns into a human hunter who's provided his personal harrowing deliverance.

Show description

Keep Reading